I love Thanksgiving. It’s one of my favorite holidays and I intend on celebrating it every year if we can. Getting the food this year was no problem – I found turkey, fried onions, pumpkin, spices, etc. but since we are the only ones celebrating, it is not as much fun for some reason.

We had decided against turkey because it was too expensive (10.50 euros a kilo, you do the math) but we ended up roasting one anyway because the butcher ordered it for us. I think it came from Germany. Anyway, it was not big like those in the States but the right size for our family. Our side dishes were green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, gravy and of course pumpkin pie. Everything was delicious and I was very proud of myself because my pie was delicious and it was the first pie I ever made (all from scratch including the dough).


In a few days, the Dutch will celebrate Sinterklaas – a Dutch Santa Claus who brings gifts for the children on December 5. But this Santa is not very politically correct if you are familiar with Sinterklaas and his Zwarte Piets (Black Petes). For example, here’s what I found in my box of clementines this year. More on this holiday in my next post. I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving!

